Lawrence Livermore National Security, LLC - 2023

An aerial view looks west toward the East Gate of the Laboratory.
An aerial view looks west toward the East Gate of the Laboratory.

Overseeing management and operation of the Laboratory for the U.S. Department of Energy and the National Nuclear Security Administration

LLNS is a limited liability company managed by Bechtel National, Inc.; the University of California; BWXT Government Group, Inc.; and Amentum Environment & Energy, Inc. Battelle Memorial Institute also participates in LLNS as a teaming subcontractor. Cutting-edge science is enhanced through the expertise of the University of California and its 10 campuses and LLNS’ affiliation with the Texas A&M University system.






FY2023 Organization and LLNS Board Members organization chart


Jay Sures

Board Chair

Regent, University of California
Vice Chairman of United Talent Agency

John Howanitz

Board Vice Chair

General Manager,
Nuclear Security and Operations
Bechtel National, Inc.

Dena Volovar

Member of the Business, Operations, and Security Committee

President of BNI / Executive Vice President of
Nuclear, Security, and Environment
Global Business Unit
Bechtel National, Inc.

Craig Leasure

Chair of the Nominations and Compensation Committee

Vice President for National Laboratories,
University of California,
Office of the President

Jeffrey Kerridge

Member of the Business, Operations, and Security Committee

Senior Vice President, Business Development,
National Security Group
Amentum Environment & Energy, Inc.

Robert Powell

Chair of the Science and Technology Committee

Professor of Chemical Engineering and
of Food Science and Technology,
University of California, Davis


Michael Anastasio

Former Director for Los Alamos
and Lawrence Livermore national laboratories
University of California


Bob Degrasse

Chair of the Business, Operations, and Security Committee

Vice President and Manager
for Government Affairs
Bechtel National, Inc.

Jose Hernandez

President and Chief Executive Officer,
Tierra Luna Engineering, LLC
University of California

Heatherly Dukes (Ex Officio)

Member of the Business, Operations,
and Security Committee

BWX Technical Services Group, Inc


Kevin Chilton

Member of Mission Committee

General, U.S. Air Force (Retired)

Jim Henry

Chair of the Ethics and Audit Committee

Partner (Retired),
PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Steven Koonin

Chair of the Mission Committee

Director, Center for Urban
Science and Progress
New York University

Richard Mies

Member of the Mission Committee

Admiral, U.S. Navy (Retired);
Mies Group

John S. Foster Jr Medal award winner Richard W. Mies.

Richard W. Mies Awarded with John S. Foster JR. Medal

Members of the national security community honored Richard W. Mies as he was presented the John S. Foster Jr. Medal in September 2023. Mies was recognized for his exceptional and inspirational career dedicated to national security, nuclear deterrence, and scientific innovation. He served a 35-year career in the U.S. Navy, led U.S. Strategic Command for four years, and continues to provide thoughtful leadership within the defense community. He is the eighth recipient of the Foster Medal.


Pie chart of LLNL FY 2023 PORTFOLIO: $3.241 BILLION (ACTUAL  costS)