Lawrence Livermore National Security, LLC - 2020

LLNS Board members with senior LLNL managers
LLNS Board members with senior LLNL managers

Overseeing management and operation of the Laboratory for the U.S. Department of Energy and the National Nuclear Security Administration

LLNS is a limited liability company managed by Bechtel National, Inc.; the University of California; BWXT Government Group, Inc.; and AECOM Energy & Construction, Inc. Battelle Memorial Institute also participates in LLNS as a teaming subcontractor. Cutting-edge science is enhanced through the expertise of the University of California and its 10 campuses and LLNS’ affiliation with the Texas A&M University system.

organization chart of LLNS Board members in FY 2020


Charlene Zettel

Board Chair

Regent, University of California; Former California State Assembly Member representing the 75th Assembly District; Former Director of the California Department of Consumer Affairs; Former Chief Executive Officer of Donate Life California; Former Interim CEO for the San Diego/Imperial Counties Region of the American Red Cross, now serving as Vice-Chair of the American Red Cross Board of Directors

Barbara Rusinko

Board Vice Chair

President of Bechtel Nuclear, Security & Environmental, Inc.

Peggy McCullough

Senior Vice President/General Manager, Nuclear Security & Operations Bechtel National, Inc.

Craig Leasure

Associate Vice President for National Laboratories, University of California, Office of the President

Heatherly Dukes

President, BWX Technical Services Group, Inc.

Robert Powell

Chair of the Science and Technology Committee

Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering and of Food Science and Technology, University of California, Davis


Michael Anastasio

Member of the Mission Committee

Laboratory Director (Emeritus), Los Alamos and Lawrence Livermore national laboratories

Robert DeGrasse

Chair of the Business, Operations, and Security Committee

Vice President and Manager, Government Affairs, Bechtel Global Corporation


Kevin Chilton

Member of Mission Committee

General, U.S. Air Force (Retired)

Donald Kintzer

Chair of the Ethics and Audit Committee

Partner (Retired), PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Steven Koonin

Chair of the Mission Committee

University Professor, New York University

Richard Mies

Member of the Mission Committee

Admiral, U.S. Navy (Retired); Former Commander in Chief, U.S. Strategic Command

pie chart of LLNL FY 2020 Portfolio

Building 111 at LLNL

The Search for the Next Laboratory Director

In late July, the search began for the next director of LLNL. As agreed to by the LLNS partners, the University of California (UC) is responsible for leading the search. Charlene Zettel, UC regent and chair of LLNS Board of Governors, chairs the search committee and Charlie McMillan, former Los Alamos director and before that a longtime LLNL employee, led the screening task force. The position was posted nationally with applications and nominations submitted by mid-October. At the conclusion of the process, the Laboratory director candidate nominated by UC was submitted to the LLNS Board of Governors for approval and the DOE for concurrence.