Lawrence Livermore National Security, LLC

Overseeing management and operating the Laboratory for DOE/NNSA

Deputy Director for Science and Technology Patricia Falcone and Livermore Mayor John Marchand pose front and center with award recipients at the annual LLNS Community Gift Program ceremony at the LLNS office in downtown Livermore.

Organization and LLNS board members in FY 2017

LLNS is a limited liability company managed by members Bechtel National, Inc.; the University of California; BWXT Government Group, Inc.; and the URS Division of AECOM. Battelle Memorial Institute also participates with LLNS as a teaming subcontractor. Cutting-edge science is enhanced through the expertise of the University of California and its 10 campuses and LLNS’ affiliation with the Texas A&M University system.


Norman Pattiz
Board Chair; Regent, University of California; Founder and Executive Chairman, Courtside Entertainment Group/PodcastOne

Barbara Rusinko
Board Vice Chair; President of Bechtel Nuclear, Security & Environmental, Inc.

Kimberly Budil, Ph.D.
Chair of the Nominations and Compensation Committee; Vice President for National Laboratories, University of California, Office of the President

John Howanitz
General Manager/Senior Vice President Bechtel Nuclear, Security & Environmental

Robert Powell
Chair of the Science and Technology Committee; Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering and of Food Science and Technology, University of California, Davis

Bob McQuinn
Senior Vice President, Nuclear and Environmental Management, AECOM


Michael Anastasio
Member of the Mission Committee; Laboratory Director Emeritus, Los Alamos and Lawrence Livermore national laboratories

Robert DeGrasse
Chair of the Business, Operations, and Security Committee; Vice President and Manager Government Affairs, Bechtel Nuclear, Security and Environmental

William De La Peña
Regent, University of California Founder and Medical Director of De La Peña Eye Clinics


Kevin Chilton
Member of the Mission Committee; General, U.S. Air Force (Retired)

Donald Kintzer
Chair of the Ethics and Audit Committee; Partner (Retired), PricewaterhouseCoopers, LLP

Steve Koonin
Chair of the Mission Committee; University Professor, New York University

Richard Mies
Member of the Mission Committee; Admiral, U.S. Navy (Retired); Former Commander in Chief, U.S. Strategic Command


Jeffrey Wadsworth
Member of the Mission Committee; President and Chief Executive Officer, Battelle Memorial Institute

LLNL FY 2017 Actual Costs: $1.733 Billion




Foster Medal Awarded to Victor H. Reis

Current and former DOE Tri-Lab directors, colleagues, and contemporaries of Victor “Vic” Reis, the “architect” of the Stockpile Stewardship Program, gathered at the Laboratory on November 3, 2017, to honor him with the John S. Foster Jr. Medal. The award recognized Reis for his significant contributions to national security. His innovative leadership in science and technology and dedication to national service was particularly important for guiding the nation’s nuclear program through an uncertain time of budget cuts and the end of underground testing. Reis is the third recipient of the Foster Medal.